How anonymous exams work

The anonymous exam feature enables teachers to grade exams without bias, and allows students to feel they are being graded fairly. After an exam has been ended, the students' names will be removed.  When a teacher grades, they will see anonymous names (such as: "Student 1" and "Student 2") rather than seeing the names of their students.

Although the connection between the performed exam and the student's credentials is still available on DigiExam's database, it is not available to the teacher during grading.

How to enable anonymous exams

When you create an exam, there is a checkbox that enables anonymous exams.  If you have a past exam that you would now like to make anonymous, simply locate the exam in your library and choose edit exam. Check the "Anonymous Exam" exam box and save it.

How does this affect executing the exam?

When students take the exam, their names will not be anonymized in the live view, and the exam will be performed as usual.  This allows the teacher to properly monitor and unlock the exam if a student needs to restart the exam.

During grading

During grading the student name and code is not available to the teacher. Instead student names are replaced with "Student 1", "Student 2", etc.

Publishing exams

Publishing exams is performed the same way as a normal exam.  The exam results will become available to the student when the student logs into their DigiExam account.  

Downloading results with Excel

If you download an Excel spreadsheet with the exam results while an exam is anonymous, the students' names and codes will remain hidden. However, if an administrator downloads the Excel spreadsheet regarding a normal exam, it will contain the students' names and codes.

Removing anonymization of an exam

Administrators have the ability to turn the anonymization by toggling between on or off.  This feature is available for administrators when they grade the exam.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request